02 September 2013

Solons Who Transferred 'Pork' to NGOs

Pork Audit
There is no existing law allowing Priority Development Assistance Fund (PDAF) or 'pork barrel' to be transferred to non-government organizations (NGOs). This was the assertion made by Commission on Audit (COA) Chairperson Maria Grace Pulido-Tan when she spoke before the Senate Blue Ribbon committee last 29 August 2013. She added that this is a clear violation of the Government Procurement Act.

COA previously identified thirty-five lawmakers, including three senators, who specifically asked for the transfer of their pork barrel funds amounting to PhP 1.7 billion to NGOs for 2007 to 2009 .

The three senators are Jinggoy Estrada, Ramon Revilla Jr. and Juan Ponce Enrile.

Estrada gave PhP 204.6 million to Pangkabuhayan Foundation, PhP 90.4 million to Social Development Program for Farmers Foundation, Inc. (SDPFFI) and PhP 172.2 million to Masaganang Ani para sa Magsasaka Foundation, Inc. (MAMPI), for a total of PhP 467.2 million.

Revilla allocated PhP 130.2 million to SDPFFI, PhP 118.3 million to MAMPI and PhP 106.5 million to Agri and Economic Program for Farmers Foundation, for a total of PhP 355 million.

SDPFFI has been allegedly identified by whistle-blower Benhur Luy as one of the bogus foundations linked to businesswoman Janet Lim Napoles.

Enrile, on the other hand, gave PhP 96.8 million to Countrywide Agri and Rural Economic Development Foundation and PhP 77.6 million to MAMPI, or a total of PhP 174.4 million.

The three senators’ funds were released to National Agribusiness Corp., Technology Resource Center, National Livelihood Development Corp., and Zamboanga del Norte Rubber Estate Corp., which transferred them to NGOs upon the request of the three, the COA report said.

The 32 former and incumbent House members whose funds were transferred to various NGOs upon their request, according to the COA, are:
  1. Rene Velarde of party–list group Buhay, PhP7.8 million
  2. Nerissa Soon Ruiz of Cebu, PhP 22 million
  3. Marina Clarete of Mismis Occidental, PhP 45.6 million
  4. Vicente Belmonte Jr. of Iligan City, PhP 8.2 million
  5. Rolando Uy of Cagayan de Oro City, PhP 17.5 million
  6. Danilo Lagbas of Misamis Oriental, PhP 13.4 million
  7. Niel Tupas Jr. of Iloilo, PhP 17.5 million
  8. Roberto Cajes of Bohol, PhP 32.5 million
  9. Maria Isabelle Climaco of Zamboanga City, PhP 23.4 million
  10. Thomas Dumpit Jr. of La Union, PhP 44.1 million
  11. Isidro Ungab of Davao City, PhP 38.3 million
  12. Ignacio Arroyo (deceased) of Negros Occidental, PhP 20.3 million
  13. Joseph Santiago of Catanduanes, PhP 19.4 million
  14. Manuel Agyao of Kalinga, PhP 11.5 million
  15. Edgar Valdez of party–list group APEC, PhP 35.9 million
  16. Rizalina Seachon–Lanete of Masbate, PhP31.7 million
  17. Conrado Estrella III of Pangasinan, PhP 36.7 million
  18. Adam Relson Jala of Bohol, PhP 13.3 million
  19. Prospero Nograles of Davao City, PhP 60.1 million
  20. Edgar Espinosa of Masbate, PhP 24.1 million
  21. Marcelino Teodoro of Marikina, PhP 14.3 million
  22. Del de Guzman of Marikina, PhP 9.4 million
  23. Jaime Lopez of Manila, PhP 5.5 million
  24. Mariano Piamonte Jr. of party–list group A–TEACHER, PhP 15 million
  25. Elias Bulut Jr. of Apayao, PhP 12.3 million
  26. Ruffy Biazon of Muntinlupa, PhP 8 million
  27. Vincent Crisologo of Quezon City, PhP 33 million
  28. Arturo Robes of San Francisco del Monte, Bulacan, PhP 25.4 million
  29. Maria Teresa Bonoan–David of Manila, PhP 35 million
  30. Eduardo Zialcita of ParaƱaque, PhP 17.5 million
  31. Luis Asistio of Caloocan, PhP 25 million
  32. Oscar Malapitan of Caloocan, PhP25.3 million.